Start a new topic

Temp Account Storage is KILLING ME!!!!

mtdurham @ Thu Feb 13 12:37:19 EET 2014
I am very new to CrushFTP but so far I love it! Very powerful.

I have about 180GB of data that I share a lot via the share files option. My server is Windows Server 2003 Standard Ed. My data is on a 300GB drive D: But, when I do a share that data wants to be copies over to the C:Program FilesCrushFTP_7CrushFTP7_PCTempAccountsstorage for EACH temp account. And my C: drive is only 80GB. This ain't good!

What can I do to stop this from happening? The temp accounts should not need to make their own copies of each file shared.

I am running version 7.0.2

Solyom84 @ Thu Feb 13 13:03:40 EET 2014
Hi, mtdurham.

You can go to the Admin>>Shares >>General settings and there yo can set the path for the Temporary folders and files, used for sharing.
If you share only files, and not folders at one time, you can create the share by reference, and then it won't duplicate any data. In the latest option if you share out a folder the users can get access to the files from the folder and see even the refreshed contents.
mtdurham @ Thu Feb 13 13:37:31 EET 2014
Yes, I do share folders and I do not see Share By Reference option.

I have a large collection of files and folders that I share with my customers only. I send them a 31 day temp account when they need access. No one but be has the ability to upload files to the server. I share one directory that has 180+GB in it. When I send the temp access, I use a customized email from within CrushFTP..

What is the best way to send a link to one folder with this much data in it and not have any duplication and still use the custom email?
spinkb @ Thu Feb 13 14:54:35 EET 2014
Go to your User Manager, default user, WebInterface section, customizations list. Set the default share mode to be "reference".

Now continue sharing as normal, and after 31 days from now, your TempAccounts folder will be virtually empty as the prior shares expire out.